People & Place

Rob Townsend's OCA Learning Log

Assignment 1: shooting starts, plans change…

Leave a comment

Over the last four days I’ve tried a few different portrait setups with Ann my wife/subject, and in the course of doing so I realised that a plan is sometimes just the thing for deviating from… 😉

B/w vs colour

First of all, my original idea to shoot them all in b/w may have fallen by the wayside already… most of the contender images from the weekend look better to me in colour. So now my plan is to make them all colour – I still think mixing colour and b/w is too distracting, so will stick with one or the other. Definitely leaning towards colour though. For now.

Pre-visualisation vs reality

Also, I discovered that some of my planned shots in the shooting list really didn’t match up to my pre-visualisations… possibly (probably) due to lack of expertise/patience on my part, but I couldn’t get the poses, backgrounds and lighting to converge on what I saw in my head. For example, the yoga pose shot I envisaged falls into this category. Another example, this one related to my first point on colour vs b/w, is that my proposed white background (Bailey/Avedon-esque, or fashion shoot style) full body portrait really only works in my mind if I did stick with b/w throughout… it just doesn’t seem to fit in colour.

Fresh ideas through experimenting

On a more positive note, I’ve come up with a few ideas (and actual shots) that weren’t on the planned shot list, but came about whilst I was experimenting around the original ideas. One of these, a range of shots I did outside whilst Ann was wearing a furry hooded coat, came out pretty well and gave me a couple of potential images that I hadn’t planned. Similarly, during a series of shots using window light I cranked up the exposure of the sunlight background and came up with a few images with lighting conditions that I hadn’t planned but came out quite interesting, I think. I still want to try a few more setups over the long weekend, as I don’t think I’ve yet got the full set of 5-7 that I want. I have however got a few good candidate images. Below are a few of the shortlist so far.

Leave a Reply

