People & Place

Rob Townsend's OCA Learning Log

Assignment 5: second thoughts?!

3 Comments

I’ve started shortlisting pics from the 300+ that I’ve taken since deciding on the Assignment 5 theme of ‘Disappearing Britain’, and I’m having a huge rethink on whether I’m doing the right thing here…

I’m reasonably happy with individual images (to varying degrees) but there’s something missing, something that’s stopping me being happy with the collection of images as a set.

Work in progress

Work in progress

I think I might have put my finger on it:

It doesn’t feel like ME…!

It doesn’t feel like a continuation of my other work to date, it feels like a little too much of a departure. The missing ingredient? PEOPLE.

My other assignments have featured people fairly heavily. With the exception of the first one (set of different portraits of same person) the assignments have all, to some degree, featured candid portraiture.

So I’m now on the horns of a dilemma:

  • Persevere and push myself out of my comfort zone; or:
  • Revert to a fallback idea based on candid portraiture?*

* Full disclosure: I shot 200+ images back in October on such a fallback idea: candid portraits of 1940s re-enactors at a wartime weekend festival. I kept these shots ‘in the bag’ in case of emergency…

I guess what this comes down to is the tension between pushing myself creatively and being true to myself and my preferences/strengths.

I have about two weeks to the target date for this assignment, so I’d better make my mind up!!

I’ll email my tutor now…

3 thoughts on “Assignment 5: second thoughts?!

  1. Pingback: Assignment 5: getting back on track | People & Place

  2. Pingback: Assignment 5: revisiting the longlist | People & Place

  3. Pingback: Assignment 5: Disappearing Britain | People & Place

Leave a Reply

